Who has the time and energy to be Mother Theresa, everyday?

donating-to-charity

How do we start to give? Will we be able to maintain the momentum? Are we really ready to open ourselves up to what giving entails?

Many people, including me, hesitate to give the homeless money because we don’t know what they’re going to do it (we ask ourselves why are they homeless, are they on drugs and why can’t they get a job). I would rather give money to a charity, or buy a ticket for a show or something impersonal that does not require forming an attachment to an individual. I’m a good person; I just don’t want to get too involved with goodness.

That’s the lie I’ve been telling myself for a while. I am the type of person whose mind goes into overdrive on approaching a homeless person or beggar and you see the dilemma on my face, take out my wallet or walk faster.  I’ve struggled with giving to strangers because I am afraid that they will follow me home, that they will remember me next time I pass and ask me directly for money or worst case become violent, if I start and then stop giving them. I want to give but I always hesitate.

I would like to become the power of one, to give without hesitation, I rather suspect that giving isn’t only about the people who we give to; it’s also about building our own character. Finding our own personal inner salvation, this isn’t about religion or redemption, but just good living.

Giving isn’t about sympathy, giving is about strength of heart and of mind. The strongest of us give everything they have to move our generation into new levels of thinking, of caring.

Giving has been glamorized over the years but I ask you today to take GIVING back to its rightful place, around the FAMILY TABLE.

You and your family should come together to give, you may be out of pocket of a few dollars but what you create is a life-long memory that your children will take with them, an indelible lesson that will attach itself to your child’s character, which will become a priceless souvenir that will help them understand the true meaning of life.

Making a difference no matter how small brings great returns to your family life. So sit with your family and find an avenue to give, whether it is a charity or a home or a needy family in the neighborhood. Let the entire family as a team volunteer once a year or more to prepare a meal for home, clean up a beach, do a charity walk, and let it be natural. If you like animals work in that area, if you like nature – do something to save the environment. There’s no right or wrong way to give as long as you make it a family effort.

A great charity to support is Charity Water and I have signed up to build a well or two, donate to my campaign today at http://mycharitywater.org/trinidadcarnival2013 and start giving.

Leave a Reply

