Musical Youth by Joanne HillHouse

A BOOK REVIEW

musicalyouth

This was a sweet coming of age romance and I found myself saying awwww way too often.

Shaka is the guy who falls hard for his girl and his animated crew lives the romance with him. Zahara is complicated but the music frees her, each cord brings her to herself. Many times in Caribbean books you reminisce about how your childhood compared and Pappy was it for me: holding everyone and everything together with simple finesse that you didn’t even notice it. Grandparents are wonderful.

I have to admit that I was once weary of reading Caribbean fiction because they tend to get dark quickly and I don’t read book to be depressed. I am pleased to say that Joanne’s Musical Youth was refreshing and uplifting. Write on Joanne, write on.

This in no way takes away from the book but after reading the skin tone of the girl on the cover seemed off.

This review was completed through Caribbean Books Foundation review programme contact marsha(a)caribbeanbook.org.

One thought on “Musical Youth by Joanne HillHouse

  1. As you already know I loved this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

